The Lipstick Edition πŸ’„ | High-End

Bonjour tout le monde,

Lipstick plays a very important role in the life of every female. From matte reds to glossy nudes, lipsticks can make or break our look. Our love for lipsticks can also be seen from the lipstick effect – Even when the economy is doing badly, sales of lipstick will still be going strong. This shows that the purchase of a luxury lipstick in hard times provides the same amount of satisfaction as making a big-ticket item purchase.

lipstick

A few high-end lipsticks hit and miss that I had over the past year.

swatch 1

Swatches (top to bottom): Armani’s Red-To-Go, Marc Jacobs’s Role Play, Tom Ford’s Willful, Dior’s Natural Berry, Burberry’s Military Red

In no particular order.

The lipsticks that make me feel like a boss:

ARMANI Ecstasy Lacquer Liquid Lipstick, in the shade 402 Red-To-Go.
This is the perfect shade of orange-red and I get compliments every time I wear this lipstick. It is very long-wearing liquid lipstick. Even after an entire day out, my lipstick will still look good and I barely have to touch up. The color payoff is also quite good and one coat is enough to cover my entire lips.

MARC JACOBS New Nudes Sheer Gel Lipstick, in the shade Role Play 110.
My very first nude lipstick, although it is more of a β€œdusty rose” nude. It glides on smoothly on my lips and the color payoff is really good. Even though this lipstick is supposed to be a β€œsheer” lipstick, the color is quite full-coverage which I really like.

TOM FORD Lip Color Shine, in the shade 10 Willful.
Tom Ford lipstick is one of the most iconic beauty product that I think every beauty lover should own. From the luxurious packaging to the creamy textual, I highly recommend trying out a Tom Ford lipstick. Even though many have commented that the black tube lipsticks from Tom Ford are not that moisturizing, this lipstick feels quite creamy and does not dry out my lips. It is a sheer formula, however, I can add intensity by layering it.

The lipsticks that are a miss for me:

DIOR Addict Lip Tattoo, in the shade 771 Natural Berry.
πŸ’”: Even though the product description claim that it is a β€œlong wear lip tint” with β€œ10-hour hold*”, I find that by the time I finish a meal I have to retouch my lips. Although the lip tattoo has a nice applicator which glides smoothly on my lips, the color does not apply evenly. It requires at least a second coat to even out the color.
❀: The color is a beautiful wine shade which was what sparked me to purchase the lip tattoo in the first place.

CHANEL Rouge Coco Stylo, in the shade 206 Histoire. (not in picture)
πŸ’”: The product feels quite oily to me. It is also not a long wearing product, which causes a tiny bit of inconvenience as I had to constantly reapply it. Also, I have to be very precise about how much product to twist up as once the product is out I cannot twist it back in again.Β The fact that I re-purchase it to test it out for at least 3 times because I misplaced the previous one is not even funny.
❀: This lip pen is very slim and hence can fit into almost every mini bag. It also provides a subtle lip look which is great for days where I want a natural look.

BURBERRY Liquid Lip Velvet, in the shade Military Red No.41.
πŸ’”: Upon initial application, the liquid lip makes my lips feel dry. When using this liquid lip, I strongly recommend using a lip liner to outline your lips and to use powder to lock it down as bleeding will definitely occur.
❀: Military Red is the must have color, other than Oxblood, from Burberry Beauty. The liquid lip is also very pigmented, blends into the lips really well, and is long-wearing. I would definitely get this color again but not in the Liquid Lip Velvet collection.

Γ€ bientΓ΄t !

Leave a comment